Vodacom Cup Review – Round 2
March 18, 2012
Only five unbeaten teams remain after two rounds of the 2012 Vodacom Cup, with GWK Griquas setting the marker in the North Section while the EP Kings ruling in the South.

While the Kings had to work hard for their 40-23 victory over Eastern Cape neighbours the Border Bulldogs on Friday, GWK Griquas scored eight tries as they recorded their second big victory of the season by crushing the Griffons by 55-10 to move comfortably to the top of the North Section log.

There were close wins in Durban for DHL Western Province (17-15 over the Sharks XV) and in Bredasdorp for the Regent Boland Kavaliers, who beat the Toyota Free State XV by 32-30 thanks to a 50m-penalty goal by fullback Jacquin Jansen after the fulltime hooter had sounded.

WP loose forward Reuben Johannes scored the only try of the match in the 55th minute in Durban, with the boot dominating as the two sides went jowl to cheek for most of the encounter.

The defending Vodacom Cup champions from Argentina, the Pampas XV, had to work hard for their first victory of the season, by 34-30 against the SWD Eagles in Stellenbosch.

Last year’s runners up, the Vodacom Blue Bulls, are still without a win though after they drew 19-19 with the Ford Pumas in Nelspruit. A late penalty by flyhalf JC Roos saw the Pumas draw level, but minutes later Bulls flyhalf Wesley Dunlop had the opportunity to win the game for his team, which he missed.

At Wits in Johannesburg, the MTN Golden Lions scored nine tries in their big 59-29 win over neighbours the Valke, with Ruan Combrinck and Anthony Volmink bagging a brace each.

All the scorers:

EP Kings 40 (20) Border Bulldogs 23 (15)

EP Kings – Tries: Hannes Franklin, Scott van Breda, Danie Faassen, Kieran Goss. Conversions: Falie Oelschig (2), Justin van Staden (2). Penalty goals: Oelschig (2), Van Staden (2).

Border Bulldogs – Try: Clinton Koen. Penalty goals: Ntabeni Dukisa (5), Logan Basson.

Sharks XV 15 (6) DHL Western Province 17 (3)

Sharks XV – Penalty goals: Gouws Prinsloo (5).

DHL Western Province – Try: Reuben Johannes. Penalty goals: Demetri Catrakilis (3). Drop goal: Catrakilis.

GWK Griquas 55 (20) Griffons 10 (10)

GWK Griquas – Tries: Jacques Coetzee, Jannie Boshoff, Leon Karemaker, Lolo Waka, Marnus Schoeman, Matthew Rosslee, PJ Vermeulen, Wilmaure Louw. Conversions: Rudi Vogt (6). Penalty: Marnitz Boshoff.

Griffons – Try: Martin Sithole. Conversion: Tiaan van Wyk. Penalty: Van Wyk.

Ford Pumas 19 (6) Vodacom Blue Bulls 19 (13)

Ford Pumas – Try: Renaldo Bothma. Conversion: JC Roos. Penalty goals: Roos (4).

Vodacom Blue Bulls – Try: Warwick Tecklenburg. Conversion: Wesley Dunlop. Penalty goals: Dunlop (4).

Pampas XV 34 (12) SWD Eagles 30 (13)

Pampas XV – Tries: Tomas Leonard, Benjamin Madero, Tomas Cubelli, Ramiro Moyano, Facundo Barrea. Conversions: Madero, Santiago Iglesias (2). Penalty: Madero.

SWD Eagles – Tries: Elric van Vuuren, Clinton Wagman (2), Grant le Roux. Conversions: Van Vuuren (2). Penalty goals: Van Vuuren (2).

Regent Boland Kavaliers 32 (10) Toyota Free State XV 30 (10)

Regent Boland Kavaliers – Tries: Jacquin Jansen (2), Jonathan Francke, Zandre Jordaan. Conversions: Elgar Watts (3).Penalty goals: Watts, Jansen.

Free State – Tries: Marcel van der Merwe, Ockie van Zyl, Kholo Ramashala, Mauritz Henderson. Conversions: Marco Mason (2). Penalty goals: Mason (2).

MTN Golden Lions 59 (21) Valke 29 (21)

MTN Golden Lions – Tries: Andries Coetzee, Paul Willemse, Ruan Combrinck (2), Michael Killian, Anthony Volmink (2), Stephan de Wit, Francois du Toit. Conversions: Coetzee (5), Marais Schmidt (2).

Valke – Tries: Kyle Hendricks, Juan Kotze, Jaco Snyman. Conversion: Kotze. Penalty goals: Kotze (4).

HSBC Sevens World Series Singapore
Saturday, April 28 2018
05:00 - Scotland vs Australia
05:22 - New Zealand vs Wales
05:44 - Argentina vs Canada
06:06 - South Africa vs Samoa
06:30 - USA vs France
06:52 - Kenya vs England
07:14 - Spain vs Russia
07:36 - Fiji vs Japan
08:28 - Scotland vs Wales

Copyright - SA Rugby. All Rights Reserved - Photos by Gallo Images